Deadline: January 1, 2021
Some January 1st deadlines California Business Owner Employers should be aware of!
- California businesses with 5+ employees should verify that their employees have completed their sexual harassment training.
- The California Family Rights Act (CFRA) begins & expands protected leave in many aspects for California Employees.
- Don’t forget to update those labor law posters!
- California’s minimum wage goes to up $13/hr for businesses with 26 employees or less; $14 for businesses with more than 26 employees. Don’t forget to post the required new MWO posters at your business!
- The California cities of Burlingame, Hayward, Half Moon Bay, & San Carlos have particular minimum wage ordinance (MWO) requirements that have already begun or begin in early January. See this link for more details.
- Again, make sure you’re posting the required notices for your city, county, & California MWOs.
- New COVID-19 Exposure Labor Law rules (AB 685) require that you notify employees & the California Department of Health when people at your workplace become ill with or are otherwise exposed to the disease. AB 685 has a rather long list of obligations employers must meet– ask your business’ lawyer for more details.
- This law also allows Cal/OSHA to shut down businesses with exposures/outbreaks of COVID to shut down what inspectors deem unsafe workplaces & to issue citations that are immediately effective.
- There are even more labor/employment laws which take effect January 1, 2021, that are not outlined here. ABL can give your business an employment & labor law checkup!
- ABL can also help with your end-of-year corporate compliance & more.
Too much to do? Confused? ABL can help! We have COVID-19-specific & AB5-specific appointments, can provide a comprehensive employment law checkup for your business, & more. Contact us. We love to help. Worried about the upcoming holidays? Check our schedule!