California Small Business Alert! In 2019, all employers in California with 5+ employees are required to conduct mandatory harassment prevention training by January 1, 2020.
Per HR Watchdog,
SB 1343 (Chapter 956, Statutes of 2018) requires that all employers with five or more employees provide 1 hour of sexual harassment and abusive conduct prevention training to non-managerial employees and 2 hours of sexual harassment and abusive conduct prevention training to managerial employees once every two years. Existing law requires the training to include harassment based on gender identity, gender expression and sexual orientation, and to include practical examples of such harassment and to be provided by trainers or educators with knowledge and expertise in those areas.
Learn more about harassment prevention and processing harassment claims by Galia Aharoni, our Founding Attorney:
- Read: Handling Harassment Claims
- Watch: If You Get a Harassment Claim – Part 2, Minimizing Risks for Holiday Parties
- Read: Alcohol at Your Company’s Holiday Party
Not sure if the Harassment Prevention sections of your employee handbooks are up-to-date? Worried about the new rule? Contact us!